Taos SWCD Board

Home / Taos SWCD Board
Mrs. Maureen Johnson

Mrs. Johnson has served on the Taos SWCD Board since 1996 and is the current Chair. She resides with her husband Steve in Costilla and represents the northern areas of Taos County (Zone 2). Mrs. Johnson is a second generation rancher and mother of two children. Her father, Norman Gwinn, served on the Taos SWCD Board for 20 years. She attended New Mexico State University and majored in Range Science. Maureen has attended the Alan Savory holistic range management school and is an advocate of sustainable Rangeland practices.
Elected Member

Mr. Stephen Trujillo


Mr. Trujillo has served on the Taos SWCD Board since 2006. He resides with his wife Diana in Ranchitos near Taos and serves as the current Vice-Chair and at-large representative for all areas of Taos County. Mr. Trujillo has been in the Banking business for 42 years and has served on the Taos County Chamber of Commerce and the Taos Land Trust. He has been on the Taos Valley Acequia Association Board for 16 years and is its current Treasurer. An advocate for many community organizations, Steve supports local Acequia groups and has been instrumental in the creation of local conservation programs.
Elected Member

Mr. Dennis Cruz

Mr. Cruz was raised in the southern Taos County community of El Valle and has served on the Taos SWCD Board since 2014 and currently holds the position of Secretary/Treasurer. He resides in Taos with his wife Frances and represents the central areas of Taos County (zone 1).  Mr. Cruz has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to and involvement with acequia and water projects (including serving as commissioner and mayordomo for the community acequias).  He is retired from The University of New Mexico (Taos Branch) where he held the Director of Business Operations position.  Mr. Cruz received his BA in Accounting from Western New Mexico University and is involved with and supports numerous local non-profit and civic organizations including the Community Against Violence, Taos Coalition to End Homelessness, Taos Community Foundation and Habitat for Humanity.
Elected Member

Mr. Andy Martinez

Mr. Martinez won election to the Taos SWCD Board of Supervisors in May of 2013.  He resides in Llano Largo near Penasco and represents the southern areas of Taos County (Zone 4).  Andy is both a lifetime contractor and metal fabricator and was born and raised in the Penasco area.  Mr. Martinez is committed to representing southern Taos County residents on the Taos SWCD Board.  Andy is both a rancher and farmer, and is an avid supporter of the Acequia Program and served as Mayordomo of the Santa Barbara Acequia for over 20 years.
Elected Member

Mr. Lloyd Archuleta

Mr. Archuleta has served on the Taos SWCD Board of Supervisors since 2016 and represents the western areas of Taos County (Zone 3).  He is a fifth-generation Taoseño who resides in Des Montes with his wife Delores.  Mr. Archuleta grew up farming and ranching and continues to do so today.  After high school, he received his Automotove Machinist Certification from the Denver Automotive Institute and later worked for Loveless Biomedical and Environmental Research Institute (then Loveless Inhalation Toxicology Research Institute), Zeke’s Automotive and Molycorp, Inc as a machinist.  In 1992, Mr. Archuleta opened Archuleta’s Machine Shop and Welding where his services include manufacturing and installing head gates (irrigation water control structures) – a sucessful business he strill runs today.  He brings a lifetime of farming and ranching experience and a broad understanding of irrigation structure logistics to the Taos SWCD Board of Supervisors.
Elected Member

Mrs. Mary Lane Leslie

Mrs. Leslie has served on the Taos SWCD Board since February 2014.  She resides with her husband Doug at their home north of Taos and is an appointed member of the Board.  Mrs. Leslie, a practicing attorney for 35 years, was raised among the many farms and ranches in Lubbock Texas.  She owns an Arab grey and is working to restore some ranchland she owns west of Taos.  While in northern NM, she has worked as Taos County Attorney, served as a board member for the Taos Land Trust, founded the nonprofit Watch Over Our Friends, Inc. (WOOF) and currently runs her full-time law practice, Leslie Law, P.C.
Appointed Member